Introducing the Platonic Solids

For thousands of years, humanity has studied geometry. Many see these forms as sacred and divine when their dimensions are equal and perfect. In three-dimensional form, they are known as the Platonic solids. They all share certain characteristics.

  • Congruent: Identical in shape and size.
  • Regular: All angles and sides are equal.
  • Polygonal: The same number of sides meet at each intersection.

Platonic solids: tetrahedron, dodecahedron, octahedron, and icosahedron.

Only five objects meet this definition of perfection.

  • Tetrahedron: 4-sides
  • Cube: 6-sides
  • Octahedron: 8-sides
  • Dodecahedron: 12-sides
  • Icosahedron: 20-sides

The philosopher, Plato, described these objects in his work, Timaeus (circa 360 BCE). What we now know as the Platonic solids are named for him. To Plato and others, they explain an orderly, rational, and beneficial theory of Intelligent Design.

For many philosophers, and others, these objects represent the Classical Elements. In ancient times, the Classical Elements were used to explain the construction of our world and universe. The Classical Elements are Air, Earth, Fire, Water and Aether.


  • Fire
  • Summer
  • Represents emotion, passion, and change.


  • Earth
  • Autumn
  • Represents grounding and focus


  • Air
  • Spring
  • Represents dreams, freedom, and the profound.


  • Water
  • Winter
  • Represents compassion, healing, and understanding.


  • Universe (the Void or Aether)
  • The Seasons
  • Represents life and consciousness.

Today, these shapes are used during meditation as a focus. Practitioners believe they connect us to nature and the cosmos. Focus objects can help direct thoughts during meditation.

Find these ‘five elements‘ at Shop LC and tell us which  is your favorite in the comments!

Sign up today to receive exclusive news and offers from Shop LC.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 5 / 5. Vote count: 1

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!

Let us improve this post!

Tell us how we can improve this post?